Pierot System
of Classification
The system was developed by Suzanne Pierot in her work,The Ivy Book, The Growing and Care of Ivy
and Ivy Topiary (Macmillan, 1974), (Garden by the Stream, 1995). The
eight-category system classifies leaf shapes found among ivy as follows.

Note: cultivars may fall into more than one category.The American Ivy Society has adopted this system as a consistent and convenient way to identify ivy.

Varigated Ivies (V)
Bird's Foot Ivies (BF)
Fans (F)
Curlies (C)
Heart-shapes (H)
Ivy-Ivies (I)
Miniatures (M)

Adult (A)
Oddities (O)

Hedera helix
Photo Galleries
View a Alpha Order List